Piqua Ohio News

Edison State Adjunct Faculty Honored at Banquet

Twenty-one employees were recognized for instructing a combined total of 3,300 semester hours or approximately 1,100 classes in their careers at Edison State Community College's annual adjunct faculty recognition banquet on Wednesday, August 23.

Elisha Hicks, President of Academic Senate and Education Associate Professor of Early Childhood Education, served as the event's Master of Ceremonies, and Provost Christopher Spradlin provided a keynote address and presented honorees with gifts.

"Tonight we want to show our appreciation for all of our adjunct faculty," said Edison State Provost, Christopher Spradlin.

"Along with our full-time faculty, you all are the backbone of the institution. You are the ones who are out in front of our students every day, working with them, educating them, and you're changing their lives in the process. You are a great value to the institution, and we recognize that we wouldn't be here without you."

When it came time to honor Dr. Loleta Collins, who has taught over five hundred hours, the audience cheered. Students in Dr. Collins' classes provided positive comments about their experience with her.

"Dr. Collins is always very knowledgeable and always quickly responds to questions."

"Professor Collins is very patient, she took the time to talk to me and keep me focused to help me be successful in my classes," stated another student.

Adjunct faculty hours accrue by the number of credit hours in each class taught. Typically, each class taught is worth three credit hours.

The following employees were recognized for reaching significant milestones in their careers at Edison State:

Five Hundred Twenty-Five Hours: Loleta Collins, Religion;

Four Hundred Fifty Hours: Janice Michael, Economics;

Three Hundred Seventy-Five Hours: Michael Wolf, Computer Information Technology;

Three Hundred Hours: Bob Robinson, Communication;

One Hundred Fifty Hours: Gail Ahmed, Music; Carin Benning, Sociology; Carl DeSantis, Communication, English; Christopher Sykes, Engineering, Manufacturing; Debra Williamson, Communications, English;

Seventy-Five Hours: Nick Arnold, Art; Teresa Buchanan, Math; Linda Dean, Business, Human Resource Management; Robert Evans, Philosophy; Tamara Gretzinger, Nursing; Kris Lee, Computer Information Technology, Criminal Justice; Julie Miska, Sociology; David Myers, Psychology; April Schmidlapp, Communications, General Education; Michael Siebenaler, English; William Walters, Business; and Michael Ward, English.

Edison State Provost Christopher Spradlin honors Dr. Loleta Collins, of New Carlisle, for five hundred twenty-five semester hours of employment at Edison State Community College's adjunct faculty recognition banquet.